

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL AS A REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER

- A non-refundable renewal fee of \$135.00 payable to Alabama Board for Registered Interior Designers shall accompany this application. This form must be signed and dated.
- Individuals granted initial registration after May 31st of this year are NOT required to pay the renewal fee.
- Renewals postmarked after September 30th will be considered late and must include the \$75.00 late penalty.

SECTION I: PERSONAL INFORMATION NOTE: The Code of Alabama 1975, sec. 30-3-194 "Alabama Child Support Act of 1997" requires all applicants to provide social security number.

| First Name Middle Last Name: | | | Social Security Number: | | |
|--|---------------------|-----------------------|-------------------------|-------------|------|
| NCE | Mailing Address: | Preferred Business | Mailing Address: | I Residence | |
| RESIDENCE | City State Zip: | | | | |
| RE | Phone Number: | E-Mail Addre | ess: | | |
| | Business Name: | Position or Title: | | | |
| BUSINESS | Mailing Address: | | | | |
| ISU | City: | State: | | Zip Code: | |
| | Phone Number: | Fax Number | : | | |
| SEC | CTION II: OTHER | | | | |
| Have you been charged, arrested, convicted, found guilty or pleaded "nolo contendere" to any criminal offense since the filing of your last renewal application (excluding traffic violations)? If "yes" submit details. | | | | Tes 1 | 🛛 No |
| Have you been investigated, charged, or disciplined since the filing of your last renewal application? If "yes" submit details. | | | 🛛 Yes | 🛛 No | |
| Are you currently under investigation by a governing or licensing board OR by a state or feder- al agency? If "yes" submit details. | | | | | 🛛 No |
| Are you a United States of America Citizen? | | | | 🛛 Yes | 🛛 No |
| SECTION III: EXEMPTION | | | | | |
| I am exempt from continuing education requirements for the following reason: | | | | | |

SECTION IV: Please read completely and sign below.

- □ I certify and affirm that I have read and understand the *Alabama Interior Design Registration Act of 2010*.
- □ I certify and affirm that I have completed the continuing education requirements as required.
- □ I acknowledge and affirm that the accuracy of information given in this application is accurate and true and authorize the Board to investigate any and all statements made herein.

Signature:

Date:

| For Board Use Only | Date: | Check #: | Amount: |
|--------------------|-------|----------|---------|
| | | | |

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Renewal and CEU requirements ABRID

485-X-3-.02 Renewal of Registration.

- 1) Registration term is the fiscal year which begins October 1 and ends September 30 of the following year. Certificates of Registration must be renewed annually. Renewal applications must include payment of a renewal fee established by the board and proof of completion of all continuing education requirements. No provision is made for partial payment for a partial year. Renewal fees are due October 1st of each fiscal year. If the registrant elects to renew his license electronically, if available, the registrant may be charged a convenience fee or surcharge. If renewal is not completed on January 1, the registration will lapse and must be reinstated, as required by regulation.
- 2) Prior to September 1 of each year, the board shall issue renewal notices to each interior designer who is actively registered to the individual's last known address and/or e-mail address. It is the obligation of the registrant to notify the board of any changes to contact information.
- 3) Renewals postmarked October 1 through December 31 will be considered late and those renewals must include the late penalty established by regulation.
- 4) Certificates of Registration held by active duty members of the Armed Forces of the United States shall not expire until September 30 following the day of discharge or final separation from the Armed Forces of the United States.
- 5) The board shall not renew a Certificate of Registration to any individual who has been assessed fines or costs associated with investigation and prosecution of violation of the act until the individual complies with or satisfies all terms and conditions of any final order of the board or the courts of Alabama.

Author: Alabama Board for Registered Interior Designers Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-15C-5 (6)(13); §34-15C-6 (e)(f). History: Original rule filed: July 13, 2010; effective September 21, 2010. Amended: Filed March 20, 2013; effective June 12, 2013.

485-X-5-.04 Continuing Education Compliance.

- 1) For every annual renewal period, each registered interior designer shall be required to complete continuing education units relevant to technical and professional interior design subjects related to safeguarding the Health, Safety, and Welfare (HSW) of the public.
 - A. The reporting period for continuing education units shall begin October 1 and end September 30 for each and every annual renewal period. The renewal application and CEU reporting document(s) must be postmarked no later than midnight September 30 of each annual renewal period.
 - The continuing education section of the annual renewal form must be completed in full and include the R signed affidavit attesting to the registrant's fulfillment of all continuing education requirements in order to process the renewal. The CEU reporting shall include enough detail to easily verify or evaluate the course credits listed.
 - C. Falsification of any information provided to the board regarding the continuing education unit reporting is grounds for disciplinary action.
- 2) The following organizations sponsor many structured and on-line CEU courses that will qualify for HSW approval by the board. Please note that not all courses provided by these organizations will qualify.

ASID – American Society of Interior Designers

IDEC – Interior Design Éducators Council

IIDA – International Interior Design Association NCIDQ – National Council for Interior Design Qualification NKBA – National Kitchen and Bath Association AIA – American Institute for Architects CSI – Construction Specifications Institute USGBC - United States Green Building Council

- 3) It is up to each registrant to make a reasoned judgment on acceptable CEU activities. Prior written approval of a proposed CEU may be requested from the board by the registrant at least 6 weeks in advance of the scheduled activity. The board cannot guarantee the approval of any CEU without sufficient and detailed information for analysis in relation to the stated CEU reporting requirements for interactive or self-directed study units.
- Courses pertaining to Design Practice Management and Personal and Professional Development do NOT meet 4) HSW standards and will not be accepted.

Author: Alabama Board for Registered Interior Designers Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-15C-5(8) History: Original rule filed: July 13, 2010; effective September 21, 2010.

485-X-5-.05 Continuing Education Requirements.

- Continuing education unit requirements for registration renewal for registered interior designers are ten (10) hours per annual reporting period. A minimum of four (4) hours should be interactive course study per annual reporting period and a maximum of six (6) hours in self-directed study per annual reporting period.
- 2) The study of topics related to Codes and Standards shall be used to satisfy the requirements for at least four (4) continuing education units per annual reporting period and may be either interactive or self-study units. Codes and Standards courses are those pertaining only to:

Barrier Free/ADA/Universal Design (i.e. ADA, ANSI) Building Codes and Standards (i.e. ICC, ANSI, BOCA Energy Codes and Standards (i.e. ASHRAE, ICC) Sustainability Standards (i.e. LEED Rating System) Fire Safe Design (i.e. NFPA) Testing and Compliance Standards (i.e. ASTM, NSF, UL, BIFMA)

- 3) Each registrant shall retain detailed and verifiable documentation of continuing education units for a period of two (2) years after the annual October 1 renewal date on which they were submitted in the event the registrant is selected for an audit. Units claimed which cannot be proven to meet requirements may be disallowed.
- 4) No carry-over of continuing education hours is permitted.

Author: Alabama Board for Registered Interior Designers Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-15C-5(8) History: Original rule filed: July 13, 2010; effective September 21, 2010. Amended: Filed March 20, 2013; effective June 12, 2013.

485-X-5-.06 Audit

- The board shall conduct annual random in-depth audits to ensure compliance with continuing education requirements. Registrants selected for audit will be notified and required to provide documentation in support of hours claimed.
- 2) The board may disallow any submitted continuing education unit if that registrant has failed to demonstrate how the continuing education experience meets the requirements of this chapter. If continuing education units are dis-allowed, the registrant will have 60 days from date of written notification to provide documentation that substantiates the original claim or provide documentation of other continuing education hours to meet the minimum requirements. Continuing education hours submitted to remedy a disallowance

Author: Alabama Board for Registered Interior Designers Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §34-15C-5(8) History: Original rule filed: July 13, 2010; effective September 21, 2010. Amended: Filed March 20, 2013; effective June 12, 2013.